The 2017 Britcar Dunlop Endurance Championship ended it’s season with two night races in quick succession, the first at Silverstone then two weeks later, Brands Hatch.

The final races usually attract extra competitors lured by the opportunity for one final race before starting the winter rebuild of the car and Silverstone saw British GT driver Richard Neary bring his Mercedes AMG GT3  for a  dominant run to victory in the Silverstone sprint race.  RAW motorsport were also back for both final races chasing the overall victory in their Radical RXC after the disappointment of not finishing at Oulton Park.

All eyes however would be on the championships contenders with the MJC Ferrari 458 GTE of Witt Gamski and Ross Wylie keeping at bay the challenge of Team Hard drivers Simon Rudd and Tom Barley in the #24 Ginetta and Darron Lewis / Tom Knight / Adam Shepherd in the #285 Ginetta. The Ginetta’s successfully locked out the class 3 podium along with the third Team Hard car of Angus Dudley & Callum Hawkins-Row thus keeping up the pressure on the class 1 Ferrari which took the overall victory at Silverstone.

Going into the final race at Brands Hatch just 3 points separated the top 3 but the title went to the Ferrari team after the Ginetta’s made extra work for themselves with accidents in the sprint race and warm up sessions.  Class wins in both races, plus additional points from fastest laps, left Gamski and Wylie 19 points clear of chasing team Darron Lewis, Tom Knight and Adam Shepherd in one of the Team HARD Ginettas.

The overall race victory at Brands Hatch went to the Raw Motorsport Radical of Stefano Leaney and Rob Whelden who had to fight for their debut win in the championship after losing the race lead after 15 minutes to the NGMsport Mosler MT900R of Javier Morcillo and Manuel Cintrano. The Mosler started in 19th place but Spaniard Morcillo, celebrating 25 years since his first race, charged through the field to take the race lead before building a gap for Cintrano to defend in the second stint.

Unfortunately for Cintrano he was being chased by the pro-drivers in the other cars and was soon caught by the Radical which went on to take the race win. Ross Wylie then took P2 on the final lap to cement the championship victory for the MJC Ferrari and his co-driver Witt Gamski. 


Please consider making a donation so we can keep bringing you our best content from the racetrack.