BMW Motorsport today announced its driver and team line-up for the upcoming Nürburgring 24 Hours. The Bayern brand returns with last year’s winner Rowe Racing alongside Walkenhorst Motorsport, Schubert Motorsport and the BMW Junior Team.


Piloting last year’s winning Rowe Racing BMW M6 GT3 will consist of an all-works line-up of Nick Catsburg and Nick Yelloly – who were part of the winning line-up in 2020 – John Edwards and Philipp Eng, the latter who would’ve been a winner in the #99 last year had he not been pulled off double duty and moved to solely race the #98 sister car after the prolonged mid-race red flag. The quartet will honour the motorsports tradition of carrying the number 1 reserved for reigning champions.

BMW works drivers Connor De Phillippi, Martin Tomczyk, Sheldon van der Linde and Marco Wittmann will be competing in the #98 Rowe Racing BMW M6 GT3. For 2017 ‘N24’ winner De Phillippi it will be his return to the Eifel classic after a one-year absence, having been unable to travel from the United States to Europe throughout 2020 due to the pandemic.

After four years away, Schubert Motorsport is back with BMW works drivers Jesse Krohn and Jens Klingmann joining BMW regulars Stef Dusseldorp and Alexander Sims aboard the #20 BMW.

Walkenhorst Motorsport has assigned Christian Krognes, David Pittard and Ben Tuck to drive the full-Pro #101 BMW with a fourth driver to be announced later. The #100 machine will be driven by Henry Walkenhorst, Friedrich von Bohlen, Jörg Breuer and Andreas Ziegler, while Mario von Bohlen, Sami-Matti Trogen, Jörg Müller and Jakub Giermaziak form the Walkenhorst Junior Team aboard the #102 BMW M6 GT3.

Dan Harper, Max Hesse and Neil Verhagen will aim to follow up on their 2020 GT4 success when the BMW Juniors finished best non-GT3 in 19th place racing the Walkenhorst-entered BMW M4 GT4. They will be joined by veteran works driver Augusto Farfus in the BMW Team RMG-run #77 car.

Race action ahead of the ADAC Total 24h Race at the Nürburgring on 3-6 June takes place this upcoming weekend with the ADAC 24h Qualifying Race on 8-9 May.


Please consider making a donation so we can keep bringing you our best content from the racetrack.