The spectacular Rally of Portugal allowed fans to return around the WRC stages for the first time in 2021. Under the loud cheers and chants, Elfyn Evans won his first triumph of the year in Portugal thanks to a perfect consistency. Although he was not the fastest all the weekend, the Welshman took advantage of his rivals’ setbacks to be the most consistent man. Benefiting of the retirements of Thierry Neuville and Ott Tänak — both due to suspension problems — and of the poor road position of Sébastien Ogier — leading the way — who was never able to compete with his teammate and finished third.

This is Elfyn Evans’ fourth WRC victory and the Welsh driver is now only two points behind seven-time World Champion Sebastién Ogier in the championship.

In his first rally after January’s Monte Carlo, second-placed Dani Sordo gave Hyundai valuable points in the fight for the manufacturers’ title, while his teammates both retired.

Esapekka Lappi won the WRC2 category for the second time in a row after the Artic Rally in front of Finnish compatriot, Teemu Suninen.


Overall classification WRC Rally de Portugal :

1. Elfyn Evans / Scott Martin  Toyota Yaris WRC

2. Dani Sordo/ Borja Rozada Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC +00:28.3

3. Sebastién Ogier/ Julien Ingrassia Toyota Yaris WRC +01:23.6


Overall WRC drivers championship classification :

1.  Sebastién Ogier Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team 79 points

2. Elfyn Evans Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team 77 points

3. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team 57 points


Overall WRC manufacturers championship classification :

1. Toyota Gazoo Racing World Rally Team  183 points

2. Hyundai Shell Mobis World Rally Team  146 points

3. M-Sport Ford World Rally Team  64 points


Photos by Erwan Séité


Please consider making a donation so we can keep bringing you our best content from the racetrack.