Alessandro Pier Guidi won pole position for the Indianapolis 8 Hour during the Pole Shootout on Saturday afternoon continuing the #51 AF Corse – Francorchamps Motors Ferrari 488 GT3 team’s superb form. The Italian set the pole time halfway into the session and remained unbeatable until the chequered flag was waved.


Starting off the 15-minute session with the first competitive lap time of the session was Dries Vanthoor in the #32 Audi Sport Team WRT Audi R8 LMS GT3, setting a 1m33.817s to claim the fastest time of the weekend until that moment. The Belgian’s time was soon improved upon by Spa 24 Hours winner and GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup champion Alessandro Pier Guidi in the #51 AF Corse – Francorchamps Motors Ferrari 488 GT3 who even managed a 1m33.456s – unbeatable until the end of the session.

Patric Niederhauser, meanwhile, moved the #25 Audi Sport Team Saintéloc Audi R8 LMS GT3 into second place with a 1m33.514s, ahead of the #71 AF Corse – Francorchamps Motors Ferrari 488 GT3 of Antonio Fuoco (1:33.556s) with Vanthoor dropping down to fourth place.

After the battle for the top spots died down somewhat, Jules Gounon had his go at pole with a quick opening sector, but as he lost time in the subsequent sectors, his flyer of 1m33.515s was only good enough to put the #99 Mercedes-AMG Team Craft-Bamboo Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 on third place, moving Fuoco to fourth and Vanthoor to fifth.

Starting sixth will be the #37 Audi Sport Team WRT Audi R8 LMS GT3 courtesy of Mattia Drudi’s lap of 1m33.845s.

Marvin Dienst (1m34.013s) was one of the first to go out to secure his starting position, putting the Silver Cup-entered #33 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 alongside the #89 Mercedes-AMG Team AKKA ASP Merecedes-AMG GT3 on the fourth row of the grid after Raffaele Marciello (1m34.130s) pushed but failed to contend for pole position.

Completing the top 10 are Jan Heylen (1m34.197s) in the Silver Cup #20 Wright Motorsports Porsche 991.2 GT3R and the Pro-Am class #75 SunEnergy 1 Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 of Mikaël Grenier (1m34.232s).

The Indianapolis 8 Hour starts Sunday at 10:00 local time (16:00 CEST). Watch the race live on GT.REPORT/indylive.



Please consider making a donation so we can keep bringing you our best content from the racetrack.