The European Le Mans Series ended its 2018 season with a nail-biting race. A four-way fight for the win was decided in favour of the number 22 United Autosport Ligier JS P217 with Filipe Albuquerque and Philip Hanson piloting their LMP2 machine to victory in the 4-hour endurance race at Portimão. Albuquerque finished his home race just tenths in front of Will Stevens in the Panis Barthez Competition Ligier JS P217. United Autosport also claimed third place with Wayne Boyd, William Owen and Hugo de Sadeleer completing the Ligier-dominated podium.

Inter Europol Competition racers Martin Hippe and Jakub Smiechowski took the win in the LMP3 class, while RLR MSport claimed the championship with a fifth place finish after leading the bulk of the race.

In GTE, Proton Competition Porsche 991 RSR’s Marvin Dienst, Christian Reid and Dennis Olsen took their only win of the year. The trio moved into the lead after the EbiMotors Porsche 991 RSR collided with another car and was forced to retire. Proton team-mates Gianluca and Giorgio Roda and Matteo Cairoli finished third behind the JMW Motorsport Ferrari 488 GTE of Liam Griffin, Alex MacDowall and Miguel Molina, which allowed the Porsche squad to clinch the championship just in front of the Ferrari contenders.

Photos by João Filipe.


Please consider making a donation so we can keep bringing you our best content from the racetrack.