Aston Martin took their first victory in the Crowdstrike 24 hours of Spa since 1948 after Cometoyou racing benefitted from a bizarre moment in the pitlane that cost the #51 AF Corse Ferrari victory.

Matti Drudi brought the #007 car home in first place whilst teammates Nicki Thiim and Marco Sorrenson looked on in the pit lane however with an hour of the race remaining it looked like the #51 AF Corse Ferrari of Alessio Rovera,  Davide Rigon and Alessandro Pier Guidi would have an easy run to the chequered flag. This was until their final pit stop which saw the car stranded at the pit entry which had been blocked by a broken down Lamborghini.

Losing nearly a minute waiting for the Lambo to be removed gifted the race to Aston Martin, with Pier Guidi driving the final stint in the Ferrari, fighting back to secure second place. Third place went to the #32 Team WRT BMW M4 GT3 of Sheldon Van der Linde, Charles Weerts and Dries Vanthoor who brought the car home in P4 but was promoted a place after a penalty for David Pittard in the #34 Walkenhorst Aston Martin following a coming together with Pier Guidi at Les Combes costing Aston Martin a double podium.

The Gold class winner was the #777 AlManar Racing by GetSpeed Mercedes-AMG GT3 EVO of Al Faisal Al Zubair, Dominik Baumann, Philip Ellis and Mikael Grenier ahead of the #25 Sainteloc Racing Audi R8 LMS GT3 EVO II of Paul Evrard Ugo, De Wilde, Jim Pla and Gilles Magnus and the #77 Haupt Racing Team Mercedes-AMG GT3 EVO of Arjun Maini, Jusuf Owega, Michele Beretta in P3.

The Pro-Am Cup was won by #4 CrowdStrike By Riley Mercedes-AMG GT3 EVO of George Kurtz, Ian James, Nicky Catsburg and Colin Braun with the #16 Uno Racing with Landgraf Team Mercedes-AMG GT3 EVO of David Pun, Rio, Kevin Tse and Indy Dontje in second and the #100 Team RJN McLaren 720S GT3 EVO of Alex Buncombe, Josh Caygill, Chris Buncombe and Jann Mardenborough in P3.

In the Silver Cup the top step of the podium went to the #3 GetSpeed Mercedes-AMG GT3 EVO of Yannick Mettler, James Kell,  Anthony Bartone and Aaron Walker. In second place was the #55 Dinamic GT Porsche 911 GT3 R (992) of Jop Rappange, Axel Blom, Marius Nakken and Theo Nouet with third going to the #57 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 EVO of Tanart Sathienthirakul, Daan Arrow and Colin Caresani.

Bronze Cup victory went to the #66 Tresor Attempto Racing Andrey Mukovoz, Aleksei Nesov, Dylan Pereira and Max Hofer Audi R8 LMS GT3 EVO II who finishing in P10 were also the best place Audi in the race. Second place went to the #52 AF Corse Ferrari 296 GT3 of Louis Machiels, Jef Machiels, Andrea Bertonlini and Tommaso MOSCA, who finished in P13 overall having started from teh very back of the gird. P3 went to the  #72 Barwell Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO2 of Gabriel Rindone, Mattia Michelotto, Patrick Kujala and Casper Stevenson.


Please consider making a donation so we can keep bringing you our best content from the racetrack.